OFFICIAL PAGE FOR APRIL MULLEN & TIM DOIRON'S MOVIE WORLD

“Find your Inner Geek” chats with April Mullen

This past week, FYIG had the pleasure of getting to chat with actress/director April Mullen about her career and her film, Dead Before Dawn 3D. April talks about how she got here start, her influences, and even give some advice to aspiring filmmakers !

 April Mullen - Headshot 2012 (1)

April Mullen has been on the movie set for quite a while now yet in various roles in front of and behind the camera, she took us through what motivated her to become a filmmaker.

“From a young age (approximately 5) my parents have multiple home videos of “shows” I used to organize and put together with all the other kids on the block.  Our neighbourhood productions involved costumes, choreographed story telling and ticket sales.  So the director/producer in me started unwittingly when I was really young I guess.  Then in grade 2 there was an improvisation group at our elementary school (Saint Antoine) and at the time I was a quiet one, but being on stage in a make believe situation allowed me to feel free and express myself without any reservations.  I loved interacting with an audience, listening and reacting quickly on my feet to the rest of the troop.  Once I started acting professionally I never went back to my trailer to get ready, etc, instead I never left the director monitor.  I observed on-set and loved every minute of it.  I am addicted to the entire creative process and really enjoy watching something come from idea to big screen.”

Unlike most people in film, April has become somewhat of a ‘jill of all trades’ as it relates to the film industry. She spoke to the challenges of being an actress vs. being a director.

“They are completely different but also very similar.  Without writing a book on it, as a director I find that while on set things are always changing and one really has to yield.  It’s tough sometimes when you’ve pictured something in your head for over a year and in the moment there is no time to get it just right due to so many things that happen out of anyone’s control…but that’s also when the magic happens sometimes.  In terms of acting challenges, just letting go and being completely in the moment sometimes gets tricky as you are also aiming to hit marks, continuity and very specific cues…it’s a constant balancing act.” (…)

Source : FYIG Chats With…April Mullen (04/11/13)

Leave a Reply

